To my Day 1 self:

It’s been a wonderful semester in this writing class – I’ve definitely learned a lot about different cultures and ethnicities since before the class started – a huge reason why I wanted to take this class in the first place. I would definitely tell myself to keep my mind open to new opinions, especially since the issue of diversity and race can be a very touchy subject sometimes. I’d warn myself to not get trapped in thinking the same way that I’ve done since high school, which was a lot like my peers (a pretty small group of people with a relatively similar set of thoughts). Growing out of that mind set has really helped me learn much more this semester.

As for advice, I would definitely say that there’s so many events out there in history that happened and affect many groups of people – big or small – and all of them are so important. I would say, try to pick ones that I’ve never heard of and really learn, really understand how it affected one’s culture, since that will only broaden my mind.

Overall, it’s been a really lovely writing class – so different from my other science and math classes – and I’m extremely glad that I was able to learn not only more about my own culture, but also about others.

One thought on “To my Day 1 self:

  1. I would have to agree that this class did in fact open my eyes up to different ideas and topics that were very different from many of my major classes. I like that you would advise yourself to be open to any event, big or small, and to learn about what it has to tell and offer.

    Like

Leave a comment